By Phaedrus
Anyone have an opinion? I was in the showroom and kind of liked the new models. 52mpg.
By Stinky Pete
I've heard from several people that they are terrible on wet roads, and useless in snow. My sister got rid of hers because she was afraid to drive it in the rain. I'd buy one if they ever come out with an AWD model.
Phaedrus liked this
By breitak67
I've been driving a Prius C for several years now. It does pretty well in the snow - no problems there. I think they do well because they are very heavy for a small car - the batteries. I got the "4" trim package with the DVD navigation. The voice controls work very well. My wife loves it. Downsides: 0 - 60 time is measured in minutes (exaggeration). Upsides: ridiculous mileage. I get between 50 and 58 mpg during summer and 46 in the depths of winter.

A colleague drives a 2017 Prius Prime (the new plug-in model) with the leather interior. The entertainment system is a big step up from mine. He gets about 15 miles on a charge. On the plus, that's enough for him to make a one-way trip to/from work. Our employer allows him to plug in at the office, so his trip home is on the company. His old car was a Prius Plug-in.

I'm in my 4th year of ownership and I have had 0 maintenance issues. I've replaced the tires once and done the oil changes, etc. no other maintenance, not even brake pads (regenerative breaking greatly reduces brake wear, and that car will stop on a dime).
Phaedrus liked this
By Phaedrus
I've read that they have traction problems due to low-rolling resistance tires with poor grip. Do you use different tires and snow tires?
By Ryan
Didn't realize there were so many models. Also didn't realize they had low priced models as well. Interesting.